You are what you eat & drink

Just what is a pluot?

So, I am over at Cuba Fruit one day last week, when Joshna says to me “try one of these”, and tosses me a piece of fruit that I don’t entirely recognise.

It looks a bit like an apricot. But it looks a bit wrong, as well. For starters, the skin has some reddish blotches. And it doesn’t have that soft, lightly furry apricot skin (like the face of a kindly old aunt). It is sort of smooth, and almost shiny.

“They’re quite sour,” she warns me. I don’t mind at all – I like sour things. I like tart apples, and lemony, sour drinks and the like. I bite in.

It does taste quite a bit like an apricot, but the texture is plummy. It’s really nice. The skin is tart, lip-puckeringly sour, but the flesh is sweet and firm. It is delicious, I reckon. I’m hooked.

The pluot, also known as an aprium, apriplum, or plumcot, is a hybrid between a plum and an apricot. There are lot of varieties – a baffling number, in fact.

Logically, you can do anything with a pluot that you could do with a plum, or an apricot – it has many of the best characteristics of both. You could make jam, or chutney. You could have them with icecream, or in a pie, or, you know, whatever. They are also delicious to just eat on their own.

000StuffLogo

Read more

Add to the pot

