You are what you eat & drink

Tooting Gold: When Home Cheese-Making Goes Bad

Reblogged from: Fromage Homage

My area of London is quite trendy these days, with artisan producers popping up all over the place. We’ve got micro-breweries, had a flirtation with a wine collective and I can get honey from a lady round the corner. But cheese? Aha – no! There seemed a clear gap in the market for some urban cheese round here. And so my quest to produce a nice tasty cheddar began. I’d even thought of a name – Tooting Gold. Has a nice ring to it, don’t you think?

The second attempt

My previous attempt at home cheese-making can best be described as ‘technically accurate’. It was produced by the simplest cheese-making method of all – adding acid (lemon juice) to hot milk to separate the curds from the whey. So far, so good, except that taste-wise it managed to be both nauseatingly creamy and utterly bland. So for my next excursion into cheese creation, I tooled myself up with the proper gear – starter cultures and rennet.

via Tooting Gold: When Home Cheese-Making Goes Bad.

This is a great story, I’m sure one that has been repeated many times in many homes, in many palces. Go and read the rest.

Add to the pot

