You are what you eat & drink

Beer before the Sun is Over the Yard Arm

The Yard Arm

The Yard Arm

This is not considered socially acceptable, and is generally a rule that I play by. The old naval term, “the sun is over the yardarm” refers to 11am. I rarely have beer before lunch.

However, in my youth I have done some silly things, like beer on my cornflakes. But those days are long gone… so long gone. My rule is never before midday.

Then last night a post caught my eye; Beer For Breakfast: How to Make French Toast with Beer

Now, I thought to myself, that’s got to be worth a look.

The intro read:

“If you have booze for breakfast, let alone before midday, you are heavily frowned upon. But if breakfast is the most important meal of the day, surely it isn’t complete without some beer! Maybe substituting your morning cup of Joe for a pint is a bit weird, as is pouring it over your cereal, but it is both acceptable and de-bloody-licious to use it to make our French toast.

This isn’t your bog standard French toast where you just mix an egg with some milk, dunk your bread in the bowl and then fry it. This recipe is far more sophisticated, yet insanely simple, and your tastebuds will feel as if they’ve died and gone to heaven, only to realise that heaven is a pub with free flowing ale and no tab!e.

To make this taste sensation, all you will need is:”

You’ll have to check the above link for the recipe and instructions, and then you should have something like this:

I have been a French toast fan since I was twelve and my friend, imported from Scarborough, showed me how to make it on sleepovers, although we called it Eggy Bread. It remained Eggy Bread until my culinary tastes refined in adulthood and I discovered it was actually French toast.

I can report, this morning, that it is delicious, of course being descended from good British stock, mine was accompanied with bacon, pan-fried slices of potato and stewed tomatoes making it similar to a full English Breakfast.

Being as it was post-Coffee, it was accompanied by a large beer handle of Chateau Neuf de Sparkling Mineral Water,

I recommend trying it, nay, I urge you to try it, you’ll never look ordinary French toast in the same way again.

 

5 responses

  1. Glad you enjoyed it and appreciate reposting it! 🙂

    I’m a bit jealous I simply had mine with maple syrup as the bacon, potatoes and tomatoes sounds amazing!

    Like

    November 5, 2013 at 10:11 am

    • I am not so much a maple syrup fan. As kids we had it with ketchup, or Worcestershire sauce.

      This will definitely remain a standard dish.

      AV

      Like

      November 5, 2013 at 10:13 am

  2. I drink a beer before the sun is over the yardarm, maybe once a week. Almost any day I would rather drink beer than eat french toast. But it sure looks good!

    Like

    November 6, 2013 at 2:24 am

    • >urban, very occasionally. If I poke my head out the gate and I’ve had a good breakfast (more than coffee), depends who is at the bar next door… That French toast was good, certainly not a waste of beer.

      AV

      Like

      November 6, 2013 at 8:49 am

  3. Pingback: Sunday cooking |

Add to the pot

