You are what you eat & drink

Jambo is NOT an Elephant

No, that’s jumbo!

Yesterday I was given a fruit that I had never seen before.

Jambo.

Red Jambo, in fact.

Pear shaped, bite through the red skin and you have near white flesh with more texture than flavour and a single pit in the middle.

Syzygium jambos originated in Asia, but it is here in Brazil too. In fact there is a tree growing not 100 metres from my house. I had always dismissed it simply as a big tree, perhaps a mango tree which is so common around here that I never gave it another thought.

Until yesterday. I was having a hot afternoon beer at the botequim (neighbourhood bar) next to home and one of the fregües (regulars) arrived with a bag of something heavy. He pulled out a jambo and told me about them and the tree by the canal.

Most of the images (googlised ones) are of small bushy trees, but the one next door is quite big… several metres, in fact.

Hang on, I’m off to get a photo!

Back, taken, processed, and here for your edification.

Jambotree2

Our local jambo tree

So, even at 60+, I learn something everyday.

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Lost my Cool | Life is but a Labyrinth

  2. How intriguing, so it has little flavour at all? Is it similar in texture to ‘Dragon Fruit’ (I hear Pitaya is the ‘proper’ name for it)? What sort of flavours (if any) do you get from this Jambo? – I’m interested as i’m building some ideas for my World Cup cocktail special 😀 – great post by the way 😀

    Like

    January 6, 2014 at 1:23 pm

    • >Ferv, I have never had dragon fruit, but I somehow imagine that could be so. There is a flavour, but it is very mild and it has a slight after taste. I is the same family as goiaba guava and other fruit. It is also called a rose apple. When my neighbour first showed me inside the bag, my immediate thought was pomegranate before he told me they were jambo.

      Thanks for the comment about the post, compliments readily received.

      AV

      Like

      January 6, 2014 at 2:29 pm

  3. Pingback: 7am | Life is but a Labyrinth

Add to the pot

