You are what you eat & drink

What beer be this?

Baden Baden Stout

baden-baden-stout-1a

Despite the German sounding name, it’s made in Campos do Jordão, up state  São Paulo, Brazil.

Baden Baden Brewery

How I came to know about this beer, simply, I saw it on the supermarket shelf yesterday. Horribly expensive when compared to most Brazilian beers, but the sight of the name “Stout” was enough to trigger my impulse buying senses… I am such a weak person; as a result, two 500ml bottles at R$13 each ($5.50) ended up in my shopping cart.

They’re in the fridge, and will probably feature in my lunch.

There will be an update, good or bad. Generally, beers like this when made in Brazil are not good, I hope that I am pleasantly surprised.

Update:

Halfway through my first handle.

I am not pleasantly surprised.

It’s barely palatable. Sweet caramelised brown crap. A brown head instead of the near white of Guinness.

It is not even remotely stout-like.

In fact to call it ‘stout’ is a crime.

The chances are that I will finish this bottle, the other will be removed from the fridge and put on the shelf; where I suspect it will remain for a long time.

One response

  1. Pingback: Horrid Stuff | Life is but a Labyrinth

Add to the pot

