You are what you eat & drink

Wednesday Whine

Just a quick note.

I am adding a new feature on a Wednesday.

winebanner

A glimpse at what I drink at home and other unsavoury places.

sauvplonkI am not a wine snob, nor can I be considered a connoisseur, but I have a fair idea of what’s ‘plonk’ and what’s not. In other words, I know what I like to drink.

My general criteria for buying wine is the price; I don’t have stacks of money being an impoverished English teacher.

A bottle may take my fancy, it may be the colour of the bottle or the label, I’m a label buff. Being an artist, both in oils and graphic, I have a sense of design.

These need to be sent back from whence they came

These need to be sent back from whence they came

Wines will inevitably be dry, or demi-sec, but not restricted to, they may be either white or red; but one thing is certain, they won’t have a screw-on-top. A screw-on-top is a ticket straight back to the shelf without further consideration.

I live in Brazil, a country that, sadly can produce neither an acceptable beer nor a great wine. But Brazil is fortunate in that it has good neighbours like Argentina and Chile. Then there are also European and South African wines readily available.

So, come and check out Wednesday Whine with me… on Wednesday.

2 responses

  1. I look forward to reading… But don’t understand your gripe with screw-caps! Some of the best Aussie and Kiwi wines have them!

    Like

    March 16, 2014 at 5:14 pm

    • >WineGeek, yes, I have heard this. To me screw cap is cheap and nasty, reflects on the product, rightly or wrongly. I have seen a few NZ wines here in Brazil with screw caps and they have stayed on the shelf.

      Thanks for the comment, I look forward to your company on Wednesday.

      AV

      Like

      March 16, 2014 at 6:42 pm

Add to the pot

