You are what you eat & drink

Is it Bullshit?

wine tasting notesSniff, sip, swill, spit…

Wine tasting, where you decide if it’s plonk or not plonk.

I read a post yesterday, or the day before on The Wine Wankers about the difference between wine drinking and wine tasting.

It made me think.

Why do we taste wine and not drink it. Tasting seems such a waste. We don’t have beef tastings where we spit the half chewed morsel out and announce that it tastes of spring manure.

Is wine tasting just an act of snobbery?

Wasted

Wasted

Obviously I am a peasant and don’t understand it.

Wine for me is a simple case of buy a bottle, if I like it I drink it. If I don’t like it, it goes down the sink, and I don’t buy it again; which, I might add, doesn’t happen very often.

Don’t get me wrong. I love wine. There is nothing more than a good wine and cheese to set my tastebuds on edge. There you get a chance to have a glass, or more of many wines. But you do drink it.

But the spitting, nah, that’s a waste.

2 responses

  1. I think the spitting is only for buyers who have to sample a lot of wines at a sitting and don’t want to end up legless. I wouldn’t last long as a buyer.

    Like

    October 22, 2014 at 3:13 pm

    • >vilges, me neither.

      Had a good browse at your place yesterday, lots of laughs.

      AV

      Like

      October 23, 2014 at 9:51 am

Add to the pot

